Bangladesh Masters Report


Day 1

I’m developing a really nasty habit of turning good rounds of golf into bad ones! Unfortunately, this was the case today. Teeing off the 10th, I started out striking the ball very nicely. I narrowly missed birdie putts from inside 15 feet on the first 4 holes before picking up a birdie on the par 5 14th from close range. An awful swing on the 17th tee ended up with my Titleist taking a dip in one of the courses many water hazards. The resulting double bogey 7 saw me reaching the turn in +2 despite having hit lots of good shots. On the front 9 (my back 9) I managed to fritter away more shots without doing too much wrong. My usually razor sharp short game was blunt. 35 putts for the day summed up how cold my putter had been. Siddikur, the local favorite wielded his red hot putter just 24 times in a first round 66 to take the lead! My 78 left me with a bit to do to make sure I was still playing at the weekend.

Day 2

Today was not pleasant! We all have bad days at the office but when your office is a tight, tree lined, hard and bouncy golf course the end product is going to be high numbers on the scorecard. Disappointingly I made several errors today from the middle of the fairway. Poor iron shots got me into serious trouble on a number of occasions and my wedge play was well below par (whilst my score was heading in the opposite direction.) My swing felt ‘off’ for most of todays round. A couple of loose drives on the back 9 had me reaching for the wedge to chip out sideways. Sensing that I may need a birdie or two to make the cut I was pleased to hit the ball close on both 17 & 18 but despite hitting what felt like good putts, the ball continued to stay above ground. 79 felt a lot more than 1 shot worse than yesterday, I’m yet to hear the cut number but I fancy I’ll be a couple outside of it.

In summary. Another week of learning valuable lessons. The first one being to NEVER hand your caddy the course notes you’ve spent several hours preparing. The look of horror on Abdul Hai’s face as he confessed to having dropped it into the water he was cleaning my clubs in was a sad picture. It took 9 holes to dry out my soggy notes but much longer for him to forgive himself.

I consider myself go be a pretty good putter. However, 35 & 33 putts is simply not good enough over two days of professional tournament golf. I didn’t miss any short putts but I also didn’t make anything outside of 8 feet. A combination of tricky grainy greens and me not getting on a roll (pun fully intended) made me look very average on the greens. I’m pretty sure I’m practicing the right things, I just need to see a few more putts drop.

It looks like I’ll have a golf free day tomorrow to grind some balls on the range as it’s going to be cheaper to stay here than to change our flights back to KL. The putting green will see some serious action too!

Mr Siddikur must be playing a different course to everyone else. He followed up his opening 66 with an even more impressive 65 today for a half way total of -13 and an 8 stroke lead! Different gravy!

Leave a Reply

