Round 1 tomorrow


We’ve had a couple of good practice days here at Impian Resort, only an hour or so waiting for the rain to blow over on Tuesday morning which left us with a bit of a soggy golf course with even less run on the ball than normal. 18 holes on Tuesday followed by another 9 today mixed in with a bit of practice should have my game in the right shape for when we get started tomorrow morning. I’m teeing off the 10th hole at 8.50am. Not too early but hopefully early enough to avoid any afternoon downpours, we had enough in the way of rain delays last week!

The course is set up well with the small greens receptive enough to probably see some low scoring this week. With 68+ Malaysian pros playing this week there will be a number of us with ‘local knowledge’, albeit mine isn’t perhaps for as long as some of the other players. There’s a nice atmosphere around the ADT tour at the moment, extra events have been announced, big purse tournaments are around the corner with the Malaysian swing of the tour providing the biggest fields yet on the tour. I’m sure a local winner would be very popular but don’t worry, I’ll hopefully have a few supporters of my own out to cheer me along with each birdie too.

More good news today. I have managed to secure a place in the ICTSI Orchard Championship being played at the Orchard Golf & Country Club near Manila in the Philippines. 18-20th May will see me competing on the Philippine Tour for the first time. If I manage to squeeze into the ADT event in Taiwan that’ll be 4 tournaments in 5 weeks after months of having nothing to play in at all. I’m looking to play myself into the form I feel I am capable of, this week could make a great start to that run. I’ll keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

