Terengganu Masters


Apparently a picture says a thousand words so here’s a picture from the middle of the fairway on the 18th hole last week in Terengganu.

20110609-142805.jpg

The decision to not play preferred lies seemed strange to me and most of the other golfers competing but as the saying goes, “it’s the same for everyone”. Bad lies in the fairway had nothing to do with my woeful golf on day 1 unfortunately. A horror start with a bogey-treble bogey- bogey run on holes 2,3 & 4 immediately put me on the back foot. Two more pulled tee shots into water hazards cost me a couple more doubles in a thoroughly unenjoyable day out on the golf course. My swing that had felt quite solid coming into the week completely misfired on too many occasions with disastrous results. 83 was the final total for day 1, obviously disappointing but despite leaving me at +11 I felt if I could iron out a few of the wayward drives I could still post a reasonable score on day 2 and at least have a chance of making the cut.

20110609-142853.jpg

Day 2 started out ok with me stood on the short 18th tee (my 9th) +1 for the round. A quick hook into the water soon undid that 😦 my second treble bogey of the tournament sent my score rocketing to +4 for the day. With little chance of now making the halfway cut it was with great dismay that we watched the dark black storm clouds approaching as I negotiated the tricky 3rd hole in regulation. An hour delay for the rain to pass then it was out to finish off the last 6 holes in need of lots of birdies! I only managed 1 so signed for an improved 76 but rued the mistake on the 18th tee.

All in all not a great week. Some nice golf in amongst the odd pulled drive into hazards (6 in 2 rounds was just not good enough!) but my poor start had proved too much to fight back from. To add to the enjoyment of the week we then embarked on the 6+ hour drive home to KL. No rest for the wicked though as there was barely enough time to unpack before heading off to this weeks event in Melaka…

Leave a Reply

