1836 Tour @ Lancaster Golf Club


20110729-155910.jpg

After a busy week of catching up with friends here in the UK and shifting furniture from the house we own in Lincolnshire I met up with my good friend ‘Keeno’ for lunch earlier in the week. He mentioned that there was a one day tournament being held at the highly rated Lancaster Golf Club this week and with little else on my schedule I decided it would be a good chance to dust off the racquets and tee it up.

The 1836 Tour is a superbly run ‘mini-tour’ that provides one and two day golf tournaments around the north of England. Organized by PGA Professional Jonathan Cheetham the tour has a reputation for hosting well run events over some of the best courses in the area. Lancaster Golf Club turned out to be a little hidden gem that I look forward to returning to one day.

20110730-012339.jpg

It was my first chance to try out the new artillery off the tee with my new TaylorMade R11 driver making it’s debut. Although I missed a few fairways I have to say the new club feels fantastic. Really solid off the club face with a much better trajectory than my previous R9. It was a day of scrambling for me as I found 4 greenside bunkers on the front 9. Thankfully my bunker play was up to the test with some impressive sand saves and some very solid short putting to finish the front 9 at Even par.

More of the same on the back 9 with a couple more chances to improve my raking skills in the bunkers. I managed to scramble my way to a +1 score of 72 which wasn’t too bad considering I was playing the course for the first time and played several approach shots from the rough or in trees. It was probably the first time this season I’ve left the golf course feeling like I’ve scored better than I’ve played. In the previous tournaments I’ve struck the ball well and squandered shots away to score badly. Hopefully this is the start of me being a bit more efficient around the greens and frugal with my dropped shots.

I finished in a tie for 21st, outside the money by a couple of shots but all in all it was another valuable day of competitive golf in a tournament. A few more friendly games of golf are scheduled during my time here in the UK so hopefully I’ll keep my eye in for my return to Asia and the next couple of Asian Development Tour events.

Leave a Reply

