PGM MIDF KLGCC Classic


It’s been great having a number of ADT events held in Malaysia this year. Not only does it help massively with expenses only having to travel short distances to tournaments but it also makes a huge difference actually knowing the courses you’re about to compete over. The last event of the year on the ADT tour this year was the PGM MIDF KLGCC Classic, another event co-sanctioned with the PGM Tour.

20111107-211010.jpg

I knew the west course at Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club well having played there on a number of occasions since moving to KL 2 years ago. In the practice rounds it became obvious that the course was going to play long and tough due to high levels of rainfall in the run up to the tournament. The lay out played every inch of its 7000+ yards with little or no run at all on the fairways but the course held up well to the wet weather and was in it’s usual immaculate condition.

20111107-211059.jpg

Despite playing quite nicely in spells during the opening round I still managed to fritter away too many shots, (back to back double bogeys on holes 8&9 didn’t help) in an opening 81. Despite being +9 I as only a shot outside of the projected cut mark so all was not lost. The second day started much in the same vein as I made the turn at +4 this left me needing to seriously knuckle down and play the back 9 well. Not before time I managed to actually play something resembling the golf I knew I was capable of. It was nothing out of this world but I dug deep and played the final 7 holes in -1 to shoot 77 and scrape into the weekend on the cut mark.

20111107-211147.jpg

If I’m honest it was a massive relief to finally get to play all 4 days of a tournament! Yes, I didn’t progress much over the weekend, finally finishing in a tie for 52nd place but it was a huge step to prove to myself I could make a cut and actually pick up some cash. I still have tons more things to improve to be able to contend at the other end of the leader board but it was nice to finish the ADT season on a more positive note!

Leave a Reply

