ASEAN Tour – Ancora Classic


20111127-232404.jpg

Good news! I fly to Jakarta tomorrow to compete in the Ancora Classic, an ASEAN Tour event being held at the highly regarded Emeralda Golf Club in Depok. I’ll land on Monday evening and battle my way through the infamous Jakarta traffic before playing a practice round after the Pro-Am on Tuesday. The tournament runs from Wednesday to Saturday.

I’m looking forward to competing on the ASEAN Tour for the first time as normally foreigners are not permitted to enter these events. Hopefully this is a sign of things to come, allowing foreign residents of ASEAN countries to play is a great idea in my opinion. Obviously I’m biased as I’d simply like the opportunity to play in as many events as possible across Asia but I think if the entry is opened up a little it gives the chance for the field at each event to be a bit more international.

I’ll be traveling and rooming with Anis, a fellow student at Impact Elite Golf Academy here in KL. Wi-fi permitting I’ll keep updating from Indonesia this week.

Leave a Reply

