Asian Tour Qualifying School – Preparation


20120101-140941.jpg

So it’s that time of year again. All golfers who finished outside of the top 61 places on the order of merit for 2011’s Asian Tour as well as anyone else trying to get a card on the Asian Tour in 2012 will be heading to Hua Hin in Thailand.

The Asian Tour Qualifying School, just like every other tours season opening selection process, is just another golf tournament on paper. A number of golfers turn up, some miss the cut, some make it, but some travel back to their respective homes with the card allowing them to compete on the Asian Tour for the following 12 months.

Of course the truth is its hard to ignore the importance of these couple of weeks in the Thai sunshine. How you play over the 2, 4, 6 or 8 rounds (depending on how far through the process the golfer gets) dictates where the golfer will be playing and for what kind of prize funds. Each shot at the end of the week can mean the difference between getting into a tournament or finishing up on the reserve list.

But like I say, it’s still just a tournament. A game of golf. A chance to go out and hit some shots, make some birdies and decide your own future. I feel like I’ve gained a mass of experience in the last 12 months since visiting the qualifying school for the first time last year. I’m looking forward to the experience again. Don’t get me wrong, I won’t mind too much if I don’t have to return again next year but for now it’s an opportunity to get out there and measure my game again against other golfers who are all chasing the same dream.

I’ve been spending the last few weeks working hard on my game and making some more adjustments to my golf swing. Once I get to Thailand there will be lots of short game practice and playing golf but less of the technical swing analysis stuff. It’s time to go play some golf 🙂 I’m flying into Bangkok tomorrow to stay with my good friend Dean Gultula for a few days before heading over to Hua Hin to meet up with Tommy Mansuwan. Once settled in i’ll get a look at the Imperial Lakeview course which hopefully hasn’t changed too much since last year. Wifi permitting I’ll keep updating throughout the trip.

Leave a Reply

