Golf in Bangkok


I arrived in busy Bangkok Tuesday afternoon and was met at the airport by my fellow Asian Tour Qualifying School hopeful, Dean Gultula. Dean & his family are kindly putting me up for a couple of days whilst we play some golf here in Bangkok before heading down to Hua Hin on Friday morning.

20120105-075622.jpg

Yesterday we played golf at Thana City, a Greg Norman designed course which used to be home of the David Leadbetter Golf Academy here in Bangkok. This was evident in the excellent practice facilities we made good use of both before and after the round. The course was great with generously wide fairways and smooth greens usually surrounded by menacing water hazards at every turn. Thankfully I managed to avoid all of the water and played quite nicely with a few birdies thrown in for good measure.

We were joined by Sam Briars, a fellow Englishman who’s been living out here in Bangkok for a little while and who will also be attending the qualifying school next week. After a productive days practice at the course we visited a golf shopping mall in Bangkok. I’ve never seen so much equipment for sale in one place! I finally gave in and purchased a new pair of sunglasses to replace the 2 pairs of Oakleys that I managed to lose or have stolen in 2011 😦

These new FastJackets from Oakley are fantastic. Even better than the old FlakJackets that I swore by since I arrived in Asia. Thanks to the lady at Rajdamri Optical for the great deal. No thanks to Oakley Malaysia who frankly didn’t seem remotely interested when I contacted them several months ago about getting hold of a pair. No doubt my purchase of new sunglasses will guarantee bad weather for the coming weeks and bang on queue it rained last night as we left the mall, the first time in several weeks apparently!

20120105-075653.jpg

Yes, I am available for all types of modeling work. Maybe I won’t add this one to my ‘portfolio’!

Leave a Reply

