Q School prep @ Black Mountain & Banyan


In the last blog post I mentioned the plan for the weekend is to have a pretty chilled out couple of days. To re-charge the batteries and just do some light practice. So, where better to do that then Black Mountain, one of the best golf courses in Thailand with arguably the finest practice facilities I’ve ever seen. In December 2011 Black Mountain also opened a 9 hole par 3 course which I can only describe as amazing after playing it yesterday! With holes measuring between 100 – 185 yards this watery short course is an excellent test of your iron play with big undulating greens giving masses of pin position choices.

20120108-172845.jpg

20120108-083725.jpg

I strongly urge anyone visiting the Hua Hin area to play golf to add this little gem to their list of must play golf courses. We only played 9 holes but I could easily have spent all day playing around the beautiful short course which really took me back to my roots when I grew up playing the chip ‘n putt at Arrowe Park in England. In my opinion there really aren’t enough short courses like this set up, especially in Malaysia where I’m yet to find one.

At our sea side accommodation we’ve been joined by another American, Greg Moss. A friend of Tommy’s who’s attending Asian Tour School for the first time. I’m starting to feel a bit out-numbered now so the arrival of my fellow Brit Jim this afternoon, who’ll be caddying for me again this week should even up the teams for the all the banter that’s flying around.

Plenty of short game practice again today at Banyan, the latest addition to the qualifying courses this year being brought in at the last minute to cope with the sheer weight of numbers.

20120109-174940.jpg

Leave a Reply

