Asian Tour Qualifying School – Round 1


What a disappointing day yesterday. As I had written in a previous blog post, my form coming into this important week in Thailand seemed to be peaking at just the right time. I was driving the ball better and hitting my iron shots crisply. More importantly my putter was getting hot with birdie putts dropping from all over the place. It’s almost as though the minute I stepped foot on Imperial Lake View this week all that seemed to drain away. I started missing fairways again in the practice rounds and my putter has gone icey cold.

There’s been a strong wind blowing all week here in Hua Hin, all the courses have been effected by it and it’s undoubtably made scoring tougher than previous years but that was still no consolation as I left the 18th green having to sign an ugly card with too many errors on. Starting from the 10th tee at 7.30am I started poorly yesterday with a couple of very make-able putts missed for par in the first 3 holes. I steadied the ship and played some better golf before dropping another stroke on the long 18th hole to complete the longer trickier back 9 in +4. All was not lost as the front 9 would play a little easier with several good birdie chances.

However, the trend from the front 9 continued. Good shots didn’t finish close enough to the flags and the bad shots were severely punished. None more so than a delicate short chip shot from behind the 4th green. I played the shot nicely then watched in horror as it rolled on almost in slow motion past the hole, down a slope some 40 feet from the hole. 3 putts from there and I chalked up a very costly triple bogey 7. It was the same hole I’d had trouble on the previous year for different reasons but I’ll be looking to extract my revenge today on the fiddly par 4!

So, a poor start, a triple bogey thrown in for good measure then a couple more missed putts that I would normally have expected to make all added up to a first round 82. I didn’t feel like I’d played all that badly but the card doesn’t lie and from what I could see most of the field were finding the playing conditions a little tricky. The combination of high winds and firm fast greens will make it difficult to shoot the much needed good number today but that’s not to say impossible.

I spent a while on the range yesterday afternoon just working on getting my rhythm back after fighting the breeze for most of the morning. It will be important to keep it through todays afternoon round starting at 12.05pm. I’m still in with a shout of making the halfway cut today but I’m going to need to play a very good round of golf. Here goes nothing! 😉

Leave a Reply

