Chalk & Cheese


A very, very strange week. Last minute entry into the tournament. Some brilliant golf surrounded a crazy half hour of torture in round 1. All in all it added up to a weekend off again for me but, as usual, it’s a much longer story than that!

Teeing off last at 2pm on Thursday I played really solidly for the opening 6 holes. A stumbling bogey, bogey run on 7 & 8 was only trumped by possibly my worst stretch of holes playing golf as a professional in Asia. 3 double bogeys on the spin saw my name dropping down the leader board like a lead balloon. On a day where birdies and sub par rounds were in the air I managed to play myself out of the tournament with 3 errant tee shots and some lack luster scrambling.

To add insult to injury I managed to hit a floodlight from the 15th tee which rebounded sideways under a bush leading to another delightful double bogey. It sounds weird but I really didn’t play all that bad despite signing for a 9 over par opening round of 81! 4 holes destroyed any chance I had of competing at the right end of the field.

Knowing that my form coming into the week had been some of the best I’d shown in years I was determined to at least go out in round 2 and prove to myself that I was capable of playing some decent golf. It was again a mixed bag with only 7 pars on the card for the day but some exquisite iron play meant I was able to convert a few more chances than I had on day 1. 6 birdies were unfortunately all but cancelled out by 5 sloppy bogeys which annoyingly stopped me from posting a really good round. Still, a 10 shot improvement can never be a bad thing and my second round of -1 71 was a huge step in the right direction.

Scoring was low this week at Impian Golf Club. The halfway cut of 143, -1 could possibly be the lowest in ADT history. However, the course was there for the taking. Soft post rain conditions and improved lies meant that birdie chances came thick and fast. I have to complement Impian on the huge improvements I have seen at the course over the last 12 months. The new owners have done a tremendous job with the overall standard of the golf course now up there with some of the more exclusive courses in Kuala Lumpur.

A few more lessons learnt this week. It’s back to the grindstone after a relaxing weekend to work out some of the flaws revealed during the heat of battle. Tournament golf is the only way to asses my game after all the work I’ve been putting in on my golf swing and game. Definitely some good signs and a lot of positives to take from this week and I’m getting a taste for making birdies!

Only Tommy made it through to contest over the next 2 days from the guys staying at our condo this week. Some sparkling golf sees him right in contention at -5 for the week so far. Follow his blog here to hopefully read of a successful weekends work. Another friend and fellow Impact Elite Golf Academy student Nachi sits atop of the leader board at -11. I may even pop along on Sunday and watch my good friends in action. Entry for spectators is free of charge and with several Asian Tour players in the mix golfers in KL could get to see some great golf on their doorstep…

Leave a Reply

