RocketBallz Marketing


Ok, so this is going to sound all corporate of me now but I have to say I was really impressed with TayloMade’s RocketBallz campaign at Doral over the weekend.

20120313-104912.jpg

For those of you that didn’t see it or ‘get it’, the guys you see pictured above are all TaylorMade staff players. Justin Rose, Sergio Garcia, Dustin Johnson etc. For the final round of the WGC at Doral’s Blue Monster course the players wore these outfits. The number 17 refers to the average yardage the new RocketBallz fairway woods have added to players shots when changing from their old fairway wood to the new RocketBallz fairway.

Now I know the skeptics out there will just say its all marketing hype but there genuinely seems to be a huge buzz around this new range of products from TaylorMade. I attended the Asian launch of the new clubs just a couple of weeks ago and the feedback was amazing! I’m looking forward to getting my hands on them to try them out hopefully later this week where I’ll report back as to how many yards I manage to pick up. I need every yard I can get so 17 would be most welcome!

Oh, and the winner of the WGC at Doral? Justin Rose, just one shot shy of a perfect marketing day of -17 for the week. It’s great to see the Englishman back in the top 10 of the world ranking. Not so great to see Tiger limping off the golf course again after withdrawing to hopefully protect his damaged achilles. That reminds me, I must put the iPad down and stretch before going off to play the wonderful West course at KLGCC today…

Leave a Reply

