Back in Bangkok


After two hot, sun drenched days at Narai Hill Golf Resort here in Thailand I’m afraid I had to pack up my bags and head back to Bangkok. It was a week of what ifs with plenty of good golf played but still I came up a few shots shy of the halfway cut line.

20120323-094328.jpg

The first round on Tuesday started off ok. Despite a couple of three putts early on I stood in the middle of my 14th (the 5th hole) fairway at +2. Wanting to close out my round on a positive note I took on a moderately risky approach to the watery par 5. Despite driving my ball into the fairway, my line to the green was hampered by a strategically (strangely?) placed tree which I just managed to keep my 3 wood beneath, unfortunately that meant I didn’t make the carry over the water. I bogeyed that hole then managed to add to the agony by dropping further shots on the following two holes. So instead of tidying up my card with a strong finish I instead frittered away shots to sign for an opening round of 77. Frustrating.

Oh, the highlighted yardages? They are the ones that were wrong so had to be altered in our yardage book! Quite a few were wrong.

With the top 65 and ties making the cut I was still in with a good chance on day two, maybe needing just to post a sub par round to advance. Whilst it may sound like I was cut watching again I kept my head in the right place and played some solid golf again. My driving and ball striking in general is improving all the time and after a couple of timely birdies on 11 & 12 I got back to even par for the day, +5 for the tournament. Unfortunately, a wayward drive and a couple of 3 putts later I had again posted a score which I felt didn’t really reflect my play. Again. This time a 75 and as I sat and watched the scores come in the cut line drifted up to +5. I had only needed to par my way in over the finishing 6 holes after all.

All in all it was another week out on the road, a couple more tournament condition rounds under my belt and a few more steps in the right direction. I made some good swings under pressure, holed some good putts but alas missed a few when I most needed them too. On a positive note I’ve managed to secure a place in the field for next week at the Thailand Challenge Tour School, held over the same course. Peter McLachlan and I will be heading back up to Lopburi on Monday after a few days catching up with friends here in Bangkok.

I’m looking forward to the daily transfers to the driving range in the back of the open top pick up truck! You can see us gripping on for our lives in the picture below. I’ll be doing as much putting practice as I can when we arrive to try to get a grip of the undulating, grainy greens.

20120323-093412.jpg

Leave a Reply

