Practice distraction


I’m usually pretty good at ignoring what’s going on around me when I’m practicing and just immersing myself in whatever I’m working on that particular day. Today was tough to do that though. Alongside the driving range at The Mines Resort, where Impact Elite Golf Academy is based is a short, straight bit of road. Perfect it seems to set up a 100m drag race track for local scooter riders! So for the last 2 days solid, there have been riders thrashing it up and down the road at breakneck speeds.

20120430-002948.jpg

Now, for those of you that don’t know me that well, I’m a bit of a petrol head at heart. That’s a bit of an understatement. Infact, for years, my classic Volkswagen obsession over shadowed my golf playing career. I couldn’t resist popping over to watch the guys racing their pride and joys for a while after lunch today. It got the juices flowing and reminded me of the fun I had back in Europe racing our club built VW Beetle, the Jägerbug. I won’t go into too much detail on that at risk of staying up all night typing about it as I used to back then. Here are a couple of pics of it for those that are remotely interested.

20120430-003950.jpg

20120430-004104.jpg

Needless to say I sat and watched a few videos from www.jagerbug.com after that to remind me of what we used to get up to before I made the move out to Malaysia. I miss the thrill of racing, the camaraderie between the guys and girls involved and the friendships I left behind. I keep in touch with some but not nearly enough or often enough. My thoughts went out to all the V-dubbed who were trudging their way home from the soggy, abandoned Big Bang festival at Santa Pod Raceway in England.

Tomorrow I’m flying to Bangkok and then on to Laos on Tuesday for another ASEAN Tour adventure. I think I’ll wear orange on day one to remind me of friends back in the UK.

Team Jägerbug – creating life long memories since 2007 😉

Leave a Reply

